May 7th: A Great Day for the NBA

Today marks a historic day in NBA history. On May 7, 1989, Michael Jordan began his ascent to greatness by draining this game winning jumper over a disgraced Craig Ehlo. On May 7, 1995-a day I remember vividly-Reggie Miller scored 8 points in 9 seconds, helping the Pacers steal Game 1 of the Eastern Conference Semifinals at Madison Square Garden. They would go on to win the series in seven games, pissing me off. Last, but not certainly least, is AI’s infamous “practice” press conference. This went down on May 7, 2002, and I remember it better than anything else here because I was so close to the incident. After making the Finals for the first time in my life the season before, the whole city was itching for the Sixers to return to the top of the Eastern Conference. Instead, Philly was treated to this unforgettable moment. It might’ve been the highlight of the postseason. I can’t believe it’s been almost 10 years…..

What’s your favorite May 7th NBA Playoff memory?




He’s dead serious.

I don’t think I need to tell anyone what my favorite moment is….

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

