Elzhi-Elmatic (Mixtape)


“Respect To A Classic”

It’s been well-documented that Illmatic is my favorite album, and I thought Fashawn did a good job paying homage to it last year, so it was inevitable that I listen to this. I’ve always thought Elzhi was extremely underrated, but with Elmatic, he’s dropped one of 2011’s best projects. I have thank Jew Rawls for telling me to listen to this on Tuesday, with Elzhi’s rendition of “Life’s A Bitch” being the song he told me to listen to first. He did my favorite song justice, but “Life’s A Bitch” is a true gem. With Royce Da 5’9″ playing AZ this time around, he and Elzhi trade verses over Will Sessions’ interpretation of the L.E.S classic. Just when you think it’s over, the track switches over to the prominent sample, The Gap Band’s “Yearning For Your Love” with Stokley Williams of Mint Condition playing Charlie Wilson. I had to run it back like 5 times.

So yeah, check this one out…

1. The Genesis
2. Detroit State of Mind (Houseshoes Shout)
3. Halftime
4. Memory Lane
5. The World Is Yours
6. Represent
7. Life’s A Bitch feat. Royce da 5’9 and Stokley Williams of Mint Condition
8. One Love
9. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Pete Rock Shout)
10. Pete Rock Shout



Link: Elzhi-Elmatic

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

