Great Moments in Hip-Hop History at Howard University’s Homecoming


HUHC 2011 has come and gone, but not before I did this for my alma mater.

October is great, and not just because it gives girls an excuse to dress up like harlots. And it’s not because of football either. Howard University’s Homecoming is a landmark event, and while people unfamiliar with the school or the experience might not understand, if you’ve spent any time at Howard, you know exactly what I’m talking about. The week’s festivities will soon be over, but it’s Thursday night through Sunday afternoon where legends are born. Because of this, October will always be synonymous with my alma mater’s Homecoming.

Thousands of stories happen every year at Howard University’s Homecoming, and most of them are never told. In my short time on this planet, HU Homecoming has left me with a ton of memorable moments. Just last year, I witnessed grown men sprint to see Rick Ross perform, woke up at 1 a.m. to try and finagle my way into a party where J. Cole performed only to wake up four hours later and trek to Philly for a wedding. Following the reception, I traveled back to D.C. to keep the party going as the clock struck midnight and Mischief Night became Halloween. As you can see, I lived to tell about it, so without further introduction, here are a few reflections and some advice on how to make the most out of the next three days.


“Know it’s only one person that can stop you from getting what you want and that’s yourself”

I’m back. Click that link to read the full story…

Link: Great Moments in Hip-Hop History at Howard University’s Homecoming

2 Comments

  1. I really hope other folks find your blog post right here as useful as I have. I manage a blog site personally and would be more than pleased for you or the readers on your website to visit. Please go ahead and browse through my site like I have with yours and leave a comment or two if you discover anything interesting. Thank you.

  2. Yet another thing I would like to state is that instead of trying to accommodate all your online degree lessons on days of the week that you complete work (since the majority people are worn out when they get home), try to receive most of your classes on the saturdays and sundays and only a couple of courses for weekdays, even if it means a little time off your weekend break. This pays off because on the weekends, you will be extra rested in addition to concentrated in school work. Thanks for the different suggestions I have acquired from your website.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

